The Wreckage of What Used to be Time…

I’ve been away from the whole scene for a while & it’s kinda indefinite as to how much longer it’s gonna be. With Narsil on a never-ending hiatus & with me having pretty much “moved” out of Delhi & Acrid Semblance getting difficult over the distance, I figured it’s time to…move on?

Yeah so I’ve been fiddling around with recording & shit for the past few days. Got a bunch of songs that I’ve recorded & considering the scratch from where I had to start as far as recording/mixing/production goes, it was indeed gonna be a HUGE challenge for me.

Initially, I was trying to get a good sound on a VERY basic setup (Behringer UCG 102, Nuendo 3, AT/GR & Waves)…and was failing miserably, quite obviously. What sounded good on headphones (Behringer HPM1000) sounded like urine dripping on a corrugated aluminium sheet elsewhere!

Then all of a sudden, one fine night, my torrent started working (I still don’t know how) and I immediately downloaded Amplitube Metal. Pardon my usage of “big” words (me still being pretty much a n00b and all that), but I was still not satisfied with the sound I was getting out of AT-metal (though, the cab sim on AT-metal is FAR more superior than that on AT or Guitar Rig 2).

I remembered having stumbled on this a while back, and decided to get into the gritties of it (now that I have a much better amp sim than AT or GR). The cabinet impulses are indeed a boon to us lesser mortals who can’t get within the affordability ranges of good equipment.

So basically, long story cut short, here’s what I’ve been up to down under…

http://www.myspace.com/dimensionlost

The stuff up there is my first “breakthrough” for a good sound & this is the furthest I’ve reached (considering my 2-day experience with impulses, heaps of crap mixes, equipment issues, academics) in that. I still don’t know goat squat about drum EQ & leads and all that…but I have to start somewhere…

Feedback, crits, love letters…all accepted in cash or kind…of cash 😀

Cheers!

Comments
2 Responses to “The Wreckage of What Used to be Time…”
  1. Zilvinas Juraska says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

    • | zerosymmetry says:

      Thanks for the comment Zilvinas. I tried going to your site but it says zilvinasjuraska.wordpress.com is not available.

      For Yahoo listing, I just submitted my sitemap to Yahoo Site Explorer…nothing extra. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

